☆Interview and Giveaway☆

Here I am with the Author and Mastermind behind ‘Merch Girl’ – Rebecca Lewis. Now some of you may not know a lot about her wonderful work so here’s a little peak at what you could win!

17703969

Seventeen-year-old Lacey Kind doesn’t have the guts to talk to cute boys, isn’t a size two, and would rather stay home and listen to music than go to a party. But in the summer before her first year of college, she ends up thousands of miles away from home, in the back of a tour bus, underneath the half-naked body of the hottest teen rock star in the country.

When Lacey and her best friend Trina sneak into a Boston nightclub to see their favorite band, they not only get to watch their rock gods perform for the first time, but score a chance to meet the band too. Lacey’s heart races as she comes face-to-face with her idol, nineteen-year-old lead singer, Logan Shire.

The girls charm their way into being hired to sell merchandise on Lansdowne’s first summer tour. As “merch girls” Lacey and Trina quickly find themselves transported from their ordinary, suburban life to an exhilarating few months on the road. But they soon realize that life on the road isn’t always a smooth ride..

Fantastic I know! Before I get to the Giveaway, you may know I have a little extra treat in the form of an interview with the genius herself:

What is your favourite colour and why? My favourite colour is purple. I’m not sure why, I’ve just always been drawn to it! However, my wedding colour theme was blue because I wanted a beachy/ocean theme.

If you could be any animal, what would you be? I would be a puppy. Dogs have it made. I spoil my puppy rotten, but he deserves it since he’s so sweet and cute! I rescued him from a shelter – he was a stray from the Bahamas. If you could have a superpower, which one would you choose? I’d love to be able to walk through walls…it would definitely help in sneaking backstage at concerts J

What’s your favourite type of music and what Artist/Band do you particulary love? I love almost all types of music. I tend to listen to the “Top 40” radio stations, so I guess I lean toward pop and pop/rock, but I don’t judge music on its genre. If it’s a good song, then it’s a good song, no matter what. My favourite band is Hanson. I’ve loved them since 1997 and I never stopped! I’ve probably seen them at least 20 times in concert and met them a bunch too. They’re the nicest guys and put on the best show! My favourite new band is One Direction…I saw them in concert this year and they blew me away. I’m definitely a “Directioner” now!

What would you wish for right now, if you could have anything? I’m very happy and content with everything I have right now, but I would never pass up some free concert tickets or a backstage pass!

Now let’s go on to your fantastic book, Merch Girl.

What inspired you to write it? I’ve loved music for as long as I can remember. I interned at indie and major record labels in college and was a merch girl for some local bands. I always wondered what would have happened if I toured out of state with a band, or what a relationship with a musician would be like, and the story of Merch Girl just popped into my head from there.

Is it influenced by anything you’ve read before or by events that have happened in your life? I’ve experienced some of the local rock band scene when I was in college in Boston and interning in New York City, and I witnessed some interesting backstage or after show situations, but I never travelled with a band or had a relationship with a band member, so that stuff was all fiction J

Are you similar to any of you characters? If so who and why? I think there’s a little piece of my personality in all three main female characters in Merch Girl. I can be a little shy and unsure of myself like Lacey, I can get jealous like Trina, and I am a huge fan girl like Devin.

Are you currently working on any new projects? Yes, I am working on a New Adult novel that I am very excited about!

Do you have any advice for other writers and new authors? For writers, the best advice is to just write. Write from the heart. Write like you don’t care if anyone else is going to read it or like it – you have to do it for you. For new authors (those who have self-published or traditionally published), pat yourself on the back for getting a book out there. It’s not easy to write a book and it’s even harder to put it out into the world for the public to read and critique. Also, connect with other writers, authors and readers because there are so many great minds out there to learn from.

Who are your literary heroes? I fell in love with YA after reading Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty…seriously, the whole series is amazing. I also respect authors who can create a whole new world. Books like Harry Potter, Divergent and the Hunger Games are all so creative and I love all of the books in those series…the authors who wrote them all have such incredible minds.

What are you currently reading? I just started to read American Girl on Saturn by my author friend Nikki Godwin. It’s about a boyband; how could I pass that up? I loved her last book, Chasing Forever Down, so I am sure this one will be just as great!

 

Now to the giveaway! Rebecca is giving Three of you lovely readers a chance to win a copy of ‘Merch Girl’ – Interested? I don’t blame you!
 
Just Click the link below to be in with a chance of winning!
Merch Girl Giveaway

    • Rebecca Lewis
    • September 22nd, 2013

    Reblogged this on Rebecca Writes and commented:
    Enter to win a copy of Merch Girl!

  1. Aww too bad the contest already ended wanna join 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What are your thoughts....

